CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Help! Transitioning but Scared.

3 posters

Go down

Help! Transitioning but Scared. Empty Help! Transitioning but Scared.

Post by prettypithy 12th December 2010, 9:19 pm

Hi All,

I'm a newbie and I'm transitioning. My last relaxer was in August 09. I didn't do a BC just stopped relaxing and started wearing braids. My 4a hair now is between SL/APL (when straight) with about three inches of relaxer at the ends. I want to be fully natural but I have some challenges.

1) I'm finishing law school and joining a conservative law firm this year. I'm concerned that my natural look won't be accepted (even if no one says anything directly).

2) I swim for fitness 3 times a week. I need to be able to wash quickly and frequently. Wash N Go has not worked due to shrinkage (though I didn't know about stretching until recently).

3) The shrinkage is killing me. I go from SL/APL straight to EL when air dried w/o product. With a leave in and braid out, it will go down to CL but I am not accustomed to such short hair and I don't feel I look my best with it.

Basically, I don't want to relax, due to issues with damage in the past. I also want to grow my hair to MBL. Is there any natural style or regimen that I can do quickly that will help me show off my length? I want to keep swimming, as it is my passion.

HELP!

prettypithy

Back to top Go down

Help! Transitioning but Scared. Empty Re: Help! Transitioning but Scared.

Post by LittleOne 13th December 2010, 6:17 pm

Prettypithy,

First of all, congratulations on finishing law school and joining a firm!! That is really awesome, girl!