CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Co-wash for Transitioners

+2
Renny
MissKayElle
6 posters

Go down

Co-wash for Transitioners Empty Co-wash for Transitioners

Post by MissKayElle 4th July 2010, 2:09 pm

I've seen plenty of co-washing videos for natural hair which have been sort of helpful. I'm still transitioning and would like to co-wash my hair. What I would like to know is: What do I do afterwards? I'm going braid the front of my hair. I know I should air dry, but what products do I need to put in my hair?

Thanks a million!
MissKayElle
MissKayElle

http://mskayelle.blogspot.com

Back to top Go down

Co-wash for Transitioners Empty Re: Co-wash for Transitioners

Post by Renny 5th July 2010, 11:45 am

Hi MissKay,

I'm no expert, but this is what I've gathered from YouTube videos and some post on here. After you wash you need to put on a leave-in conditioner, seal the ends of your hair to retain the moisture and then you style.

I'm using Giovanni Direct Leave-in and sealing with a combination of oils I put in a bottle (EVOO, Jojooba, castor, coconut oil, and rosemary) or I seal with a a shea butter mixture I made of shea butter and the oils I listed above.

Hope that helps.
Renny
Renny

http://www.rhondamcknight.net

Back to top Go down

Post by Naturally Esq 5th July 2010, 12:30 pm

Naturally Esq
Naturally Esq

Back to top Go down

Post by Muz 5th July 2010, 1:44 pm

When I was transitioning, I treated all of my hair like it was natural. So after co-washing I'd put on some leave in, then an oil, and then a cream based moisturizer before styling. I don't think you have to do anything *special* with your hair because you're transitioning, just make sure to keep it clean and moisturized Smile Oh, and manipulate it at little as possible so you don't have to worry about much breakage.
Muz
Muz

http://muzikalhairjournal.blogspot.com

Back to top Go down