CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

my transition

2 posters

Go down

my transition Empty my transition

Post by Ameenah 8th February 2010, 2:21 pm

Hello Ladies

My name is Ameenah and I have been transitoning for a about 13 months now, I know I speak in months like its a child. first let me tell you I was addicted to perms and thought I couldn't live without them. When I would see new growth I would immediatly put a perm in my hair on my root I have always maintained a nice length of hair and then my hair went from touching my back to touching my neck then. I also dyed my hair all the time since I was like 15 I was addicted to hair color as well I hated my natural color. I started the perms about 10 years old or earlier I don't remember I just remember when my mom told me I had to start putting them in myself. When I started to see alot of breakage and my length getting shorter I started to become afraid that as I got older my hair would not be healthy. So I tried to maintain healthy permed hair. As I was going through my process my daughter's hair was started to become a hardship so her impatient mother put a perm in her hair for the first time and last. It was one of my most regretable decisions I have ever made. Anyway I decided I wouldn't do to her what I feel was done to me and that is brainwashed that we have to have straight hair or permed hair. Then after much breakage and failure to maintain healthy permed hair I decided not to put a perm in my hair again . I braced my Husband because I didn't discuss this with him I just decided it on my own . Also I went to the hairdresser to get my hair done and she told me I was crazy for still even putting perms in my hair. In my journey I would only conditon , deep conditon and hot oil treatment I would use only olive oil in both my daughter and I hair. I didn't know this whole natural world existed until a friend of mine who had al