CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Cutting Curly Hair Dry for Shape

+11
NigerianKinks
susu
Intelligentbeauty
knmiddle
kurlykaren
BlondeByDesire
HAMPTONSFNST
MsCocoaBean11
blondie
ChrsLvsBks
metrocntry girl
15 posters

Go down

Cutting Curly Hair Dry for Shape Empty Cutting Curly Hair Dry for Shape

Post by metrocntry girl 19th January 2010, 12:30 am

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to CN. I'm still learning my way around the site and trying to read through all the posts, but I am currently obsessed with a mission to get my hair cut/trimmed and need some recommendations. And I don't mean the big chop kind of cut, I'm letting my hair grow out after keeping it short for some time, it's been a year and a half since my last cut (well professional cut - I did give myself a "trim" about five months ago which made matters worse). I've been natural 12 years and every 2-4 years cut it all off when the shape goes awry. This time I'm going to try to keep the length, but I need to find someone who can give it a nice shape.

Everyone I've stopped in the past year in DC or MD has had their hair cut by some celeb stylist in NYC, or done it themselves (why can't I do that?). I've considered going to see Miko of Miss Jessie's fame because the "angle and balance" approach sounds good, but there is just something offensive about being asked to pay a minimum of $300 for a hair cut and then my hair doesn't even seem to like their products. I've considered trying Dickey of Hair Rules in NY but I'm sure he's going to be close to Miko's price point as well, and again Hair Rules products and my hair don't really get along either. One of my favorite bloggers, Afrobella, loved her cut from a Deva Curl salon in Miami, but I have no trips planned to Miami in the near future and the only Deva Curl trained stylists in this area all seem to be in salons that I am sure are not used to dealing with African-American hair.