CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Belizeanbeauty's Long Term Transition to Natural Hair

+14
HappyCurly
jcanalena79
Intelligentbeauty
bholmes87
MomnWife
LadyMika
Lynnieluve
BlondeByDesire
Enchantment
LilMsPuddles
curlykinks
beautifuleyez
dajewel
Belizeanbeauty
18 posters

Go down

Belizeanbeauty's Long Term Transition to Natural Hair Empty Belizeanbeauty's Long Term Transition to Natural Hair

Post by Belizeanbeauty 23rd November 2009, 6:55 pm

Hello everyone!

I have been transitioning to natural hair since March 17th 2007. I started off my journey with BSL hair and I currently have hair that reaches the small of my back (about 4 inches past waist length). I decided to transition because I was tired of spending $40 to relax my hair 3-4 times a year. Nothing deep or profound. I only went to the hairdresser for relaxers and I trimmed my hair with each relaxer. I maintained my relaxed hair with blunt trims, deep conditioning, etc and I did my hair myself between salon visits. My father encouraged my sister and I to do our hair ourselves and bought us our own hair products and tools so we didnt have to rely on someone else ( my sis started transitioning with me and has BSL natural hair now). Ultimately I learned a lot about my hair in its relaxed state and now I am excited to continue learning about my natural hair.