CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Long Term Protective Styling??

3 posters

Go down

Long Term Protective Styling?? Empty Long Term Protective Styling??

Post by Kthaler10 18th January 2011, 7:42 pm

Hello there everyone! My name is Kendra. I have been natural for 2 years. I did a full transition without cutting or trimming my hair. It is long and healthy and beautifully natural Smile I am Apostolic/Pentecostal cheers so I have a different approach to hair. I don't cut or trim because of my relligious beliefs!

So, with that said- I am new to the curly nikki community Smile I have a quick question for you all!!

I LOVE protective styling but I never keep anything in longer than 7 days because I wash my hair every 7 days. I have seen lots of ladies wear long term protective styles (mini twists, mini braids, etc). What I want to know is, HOW do you keep the hair clean and moisturized without excess frizz??

Thanks I love you
Kthaler10
Kthaler10

http://www.kendrathaler-hair.blogspot.com

Back to top Go down

Long Term Protective Styling?? Empty Re: Long Term Protective Styling??

Post by coilykinks 18th January 2011, 8:57 pm

Welcome to the Curlynikki community!

I am wearing twists now, and I am in my 2nd week. I will not wash my hair while the twists are in. As far as moisturizing goes, I will rub shea butter throughout my twists and seal the ends. I plan to keep these twists up for 3 weeks (thats a record for me.)

HTH
coilykinks
coilykinks

Back to top Go down

Post by priceless 19th January 2011, 4:52 am

Hello and welcome. hope that you find the site as interesting and educating as i do

some people say that if you put your hair in sections and only focus on the scalp when you wash the hair will not get as frizzy. Many also spray hair with spritzers and use light creams to moisturize while in protective styles.