CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Big Sister Absolutely Needed.

2 posters

Go down

Big Sister Absolutely Needed. Empty Big Sister Absolutely Needed.

Post by KinkySheaPT 14th December 2009, 6:27 pm

This is such an awesome idea! This is my first time going natural and I transitioned long term using braided extensions and occasionally trimming. I've been working with my natural hair since Feb 09 and I still have so many questions (and frustrations) and I'm always seeking great advise (which is why I'm constantly checking CN.com, tightlycurly.com, and this forum). I would love to have a big sister to help me out with my 4a/4b kinky coily hair and the tons of questions I have (and pop up). I get so darn frustrated so much with styling, breakage, maintaining moisture, pj'ing, dealing with the reaction of others, you name it. [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] I want this to be my fist and only time being natural, but could sure use some help.
KinkySheaPT
KinkySheaPT

Back to top Go down

Big Sister Absolutely Needed. Empty Re: Big Sister Absolutely Needed.

Post by Queenofthe4s 15th December 2009, 10:57 am

Hey KinkySheaPT! I would love to be your Big Sister as we seem to have a lot in common intitially. I, too, have been rocking my natural hair since Feb '09 and I have type 4a/b hair. My last relaxer was in October '08, so I have a little more than 6 inches of hair stretched, but the tightly coiled texture makes it look a lot shorter than it is. I would say my shrinkage is about 25% of my actual hair length...LOL..which makes for some crazy detangling sessions.

Thankfully, I was pretty good at styling my own hair before I started transitioning, so I feel like I have a pretty good handle on it. I've also managed to convince two of my friends to go natural (one is transitioning...one bc'd a few months ago) and I am constantly doling out advice and motivation.