CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New to CN, and boy do I have questions! Yipes!

4 posters

Go down

New to CN, and boy do I have questions! Yipes! Empty New to CN, and boy do I have questions! Yipes!

Post by Pdxcoco 20th January 2011, 4:40 pm

Hi, Everybody.

I'm new to CurlyNikki (!), though I've been natural since 1987. I had locks for nearly ten years until, three years ago, I chopped them off. Since then I've been sporting a fro. Mostly my hair coils (pretty aggressive coils) on its own, especially if I use Pureology Conditioner. The coils are small--between the size of a mixed drink straw (note: NOT a regular straw) and a pencil. So I suspect that I'm somewhere between a 3c and a 4/something. My hair is soft and sensitive to protein (that is, when I use a protein conditioner on it, it's less soft, bulks up and is a bit more coarse than usual). When it was straight, it never held a curl, and broke off. Anyway, all that is by way of background.

I've been trying to grow this stuff out for the better part of a year. But my ends seem to split if you look at them. So I'm always getting "trims" which really mean cuts. Oooooh, oooooh am I frustrated. Fit to be tied, really.

So I thought: I'll Henna! I'll deep condition! I'm gonna get with it. Which I've been doing. But still: split ends. Grumble.

Here're the questions I've got related to Henna, split ends, and general DOH! moves I've made over the past year.

1. Henna: Just put henna in for the first time last night. I followed (exactly) curlynikki's formula and directions. My hair didn't fall out (Yipeee! I was oddly afraid it would--doh!). But neither does it seem "softer" or "stronger." In fact, it feels as it does after I put in a protein treatment: coarser, there's more shrinkage. Is this right? Should I do something different given my texture?