CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Detangling very, very, VERY small spiral curls

+6
letha
naturalesque
Madeaj
1FlySista
Lynnieluve
LCnewjourney
10 posters

Go down

Detangling very, very, VERY small spiral curls Empty Detangling very, very, VERY small spiral curls

Post by LCnewjourney 13th December 2010, 12:52 pm

Hi everyone,

So I've been transitioning for 7 months and my natural hair is pretty much small/medium spirals everywhere. Some spirals are so small that it looks like I did a straw set with coffee stirrers!

I went to get my hair trimmed (by a "natural stylist" who combed my hair dry...) and she told me that it was almost like my hair was trying to lock! Wasn't too thrilled about that because that's not what I'm going for.

My question is, how do I detangle my hair to make sure I'm getting all the shed hair out when the curls are so small? I've noticed that for the past few months, some shed hair has trapped around the relaxed hair and formed knots and it is a big pain. If I'm using a wide tooth comb to detangle, I'm not getting to each curl really, so it's possible some shed hair will remain, right? Does anyone have any suggestions for what I can do?

LCnewjourney

Back to top Go down

Detangling very, very, VERY small spiral curls Empty Re: Detangling very, very, VERY small spiral curls

Post by Lynnieluve 13th December 2010, 1:03 pm

My suggestion is to detangle your hair in sections loaded with conditioner. I usually section my hair in 4 sections (2 in the front, 2 in the back).

I use a wide tooth comb to detangle but I also use a denman brush. You dont have use a denman. A paddle brush works just as well.

I hope this helps.
Lynnieluve
Lynnieluve

Back to top Go down

Detangling very, very, VERY small spiral curls Empty Re: Detangling very, very, VERY small spiral curls

Post by 1FlySista 13th December 2010, 1:07 pm