CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hair breakage

2 posters

Go down

Hair breakage Empty Hair breakage

Post by naturallynola 20th September 2010, 10:32 am

Hi everybody, I am new to the forum. I have been transitioning for 7 months. My problem is I am seeing hair breakage primarily in the crown area. I have noticed a little at the hairline around my face (split strands, but not the ends). Here is a little of my routine so maybe someone has ideas. I wash with a moisturing shampoo or cowash about every 5 days.I follow with a conditioner, Mizani Mosifusion and leave it on about 30 minutes for now until its gone. I have Shea Moisture Masque that I will start using today when I wash. I don't comb my hair unless its wet. I detangle from the ends, but I also use KT so no tangle issues once I work in end my hair. I then use KKKC or since this weekend Curls Brulee and Curls Goddess gel for styling. I have been wearing braidouts (plait method), but prior I was twisting for 6 months and wearing twistouts. I wash and condition while in the shower, but only last 2 washes (know better, do better as I say). After the plaiting, I sit under the dryer for 1 - 1 1/2 hours. I am very prone to catching a cold with wet hair. I use EVOO prepoo about every 2 weeks. I use a little 100% shea butter and 100% coconut oil daily and Jane Carter leave-in for moisture or spritz with some distilled water daily. My hair is very soft, well-moisturized always. It feels great, except the crown, which feels like grass.It is obviously broken off in that area. Much shorter than my hair everywhere else. I do have to plait at night to get good style results the next day. I haven't been able to get 3 or more day hair and it look presentable in my opinion. I have not used protein conditioners, should I? Could my hair be over-conditioned? Could the twisting for 6 months have contributed to breakage? Should I try flexirod set