CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Cowashing vs. Shampooing

+3
Naturalin2010
Lynnieluve
*TB*
7 posters

Go down

Cowashing vs. Shampooing Empty Cowashing vs. Shampooing

Post by *TB* 13th September 2010, 9:25 am

Good Morning Naturals!

I am fairly new to the natural world, so please excuse my mis-education...

As I am still learning what my hair likes and dislikes, I have been experimenting with different products and techniques. I find that shampooing is not yeilding the results I would like to see when compared to soft, defined curls I get from co-washing. So, my question is...is it ok to only co-wash my hair or is shampooing a "requirement" to achieve healthier, stronger, longer hair?
*TB*
*TB*

Back to top Go down

Cowashing vs. Shampooing Empty Re: Cowashing vs. Shampooing

Post by Lynnieluve 13th September 2010, 10:28 am

Try shampooing less and see how your hair responds.

I started out shampooing every week when I BC'd and it dried my hair out. So I started shampooing once a month and it worked for me. Now that my hair is longer, I shampoo once a week again. For me, it's what I do to my hair after I shampoo it, that makes the difference...moisturizing it very well.

I hope this helps.
Lynnieluve
Lynnieluve

Back to top Go down

Post by Naturalin2010 13th September 2010, 11:25 am

I cowash my hair 2x/week, but only shampoo only 1x/wk. I'm like Lynnieluve, after shampooing is what makes the difference to my hair. I never shampoo my hair without a deep conditioning for at least an hr (without my hair bonnet) or 30 min sitting under my dryer. My hair comes out uber soft afterwards.
Naturalin2010
Naturalin2010

http://kaynatural1.blogspot.com

Back to top Go down

Post by BajanPrincess82 13th September 2010, 11:41 am