CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Crispy Hair After Shampooing

+2
Naturally Esq
kimjunebug
6 posters

Go down

Crispy Hair After Shampooing Empty Crispy Hair After Shampooing

Post by kimjunebug 18th June 2010, 10:14 pm

Ok, I'm still learning how to handle this natural hair of mine. Its been a little over a month since I took the sew in out and decided to ditch the flat iron altogether. But I can't figure out why my hair was so dry and brittle after shampooing.

I shampooed my hair and conditioned with a pretty high end shampoo and conditioner (well, it cost me a pretty penny), and after rinsing the conditioner I applied Cantu Shea Butter all over my hair as a leave in and twisted it in about 10 twists. The next morning after drying, the twists had shrivled up to about a 1/4 of my length and were extra crispy. What did I do wrong??? It took about 3 days before my hair started looking somewhat moisturized and heavily applying Wave Nouveau.

Should I have allowed my hair to dry before applying applying the leave in and twisting?? [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
kimjunebug
kimjunebug

Back to top Go down

Crispy Hair After Shampooing Empty Re: Crispy Hair After Shampooing

Post by Naturally Esq 19th June 2010, 4:06 pm

Is your shampoo sulfate free?
Naturally Esq
Naturally Esq

Back to top Go down

Post by kimjunebug 19th June 2010, 8:58 pm

No, the shampoo has ammonium lauryl sulfate. Is that the reason why?
kimjunebug
kimjunebug

Back to top Go down

Post by Naturally Esq 19th June 2010, 10:27 pm

Naturally Esq
Naturally Esq

Back to top Go down

Post by kimjunebug 19th June 2010, 10:49 pm

Ok thanks
kimjunebug
kimjunebug

Back to top Go down

Post by Karameldiva1978 20th June 2010, 10:52 pm

One other thing, you may want to try to leave a bit of conditioner in the hair, add the leave-in and seal with oil. That may help to hold some moisture also.