CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Can you transition too long

+3
dyamonds10
naturalchic
komirra
7 posters

Go down

Can you transition too long Empty Can you transition too long

Post by komirra 22nd July 2010, 12:06 pm

is it possible to transition too long? ive been transitioning for 9 months and i plan to go a full year, but im worried about damage to my natural hair. im moisturizing it and everything but i wonder if the relaxed ends cud somehow damage the natural... is transitioning for 2 years possible or is tht just too long to wait?
komirra
komirra

Back to top Go down

Can you transition too long Empty Re: Can you transition too long

Post by naturalchic 22nd July 2010, 3:30 pm

Hello and Welcome!!

I transitioned for a long time about a year, but i pressed my hair or kept in braids. However, when i wanted to see my natural hair it was heat damaged from flat ironing. So I had to grow those ends of again and then cut off to finally get to see my natural hair. You may not have this problem.....I guess it all depends on whether you want to continue to press you hair or not....hope this helps
naturalchic
naturalchic

Back to top Go down

Post by dyamonds10 22nd July 2010, 6:52 pm

My first transition was for 15 months. I didn't have any damage. As long as you are moisturizing, conditioning and oiling your hair you should be fine. Treat your hair like it is silk and it will reward you. Mind you, I blew dry and flat iron weekly during those 15months and my curls were fine. Here I am transitioning again with the same motto but with more natural products Smile HHG
dyamonds10
dyamonds10

http://www.simplylove-leigh.webs.com

Back to top Go down

Post by dyamonds10 22nd July 2010, 6:52 pm

oh and use heat protectant!!!!!!!!! It is a must!
dyamonds10
dyamonds10

http://www.simplylove-leigh.webs.com

Back to top Go down

Post by Gado-Gado Gal 22nd July 2010, 10:21 pm

Hey komirra,