CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Is 4b/c Hair Frowned Upon?

+24
CurlsGalore
lumii
kbelle
Neems
sweetdrk1
Delta87
poeticlyspkng
crvng4mr
labon10
luvinlife225
Lynnieluve
dajewel
BrownSkinDiva
TheRYL1
swoodward
QuietButterfly
kinksncurls
Erica5417
coilylove
Juices-n-Berries
Music8192
tiashaunteé
NikG20
NewYorkUptownChick
28 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Is 4b/c Hair Frowned Upon? Empty Is 4b/c Hair Frowned Upon?

Post by NewYorkUptownChick 3rd May 2010, 6:07 pm

Hey everyone! My name is Tiffany, and I'm new to the natural world. I got so intrigued by natural hair by lurking on hair forums like this, Hairlista.com, KISS, etc and I would like to transition in the future one day. However, now I'm discouraged. I got a nasty comment by someone I'm really close to who is natural, and she said that my hair is too "nappy" to be natural, that I won't have any curl definition, and that the "prettiest" natural hair is hair that is not in the type 4b/c category. Now, my hair has these corkscrew-ish like textures around my edges and nape, and in the middle of my head, there are large corkscrews, but my hair is still coarse/resistant. I know I keep hearing that you won't know the actual "real" texture of your hair until all the relaxed hair is gone, but it's not just her who's saying this, it's everyone, and I feel so hurt.

Can anyone give me some advice? When I'm ready to transition, I want it to be a fun, loving experience getting to know my hair...I don't want to keep on getting discouraged by people who think they're better all because their texture is looser!!

NewYorkUptownChick

Back to top Go down

Is 4b/c Hair Frowned Upon? Empty Re: Is 4b/c Hair Frowned Upon?

Post by NikG20 3rd May 2010, 6:33 pm