CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Tough Girls: Martial Artists

2 posters

Go down

Tough Girls: Martial Artists Empty Tough Girls: Martial Artists

Post by BekkaPoo 14th April 2010, 10:51 am

Hey ladies.. any martial artists on board? I've been doing aiki jujitsu for about 8 months now and am about to test for my next rank (orange belt) this weekend.

I really enjoy this art because it teaches you so many things: history, Japanese (lol), endurance, pain tolerance, breathing, and so much more. You learn to see attacks coming and how to react and defend yourself. This isn't so much of a kicking-striking art, more of a throwing-grappling-joint locking art. I love it.. but then I've always been a tomboy at heart. I'm the only female in my class. Other women have joined in for a few classes but they never last..

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
BekkaPoo
BekkaPoo

http://suprnatural.wordpress.com/

Back to top Go down

Tough Girls: Martial Artists Empty Re: Tough Girls: Martial Artists

Post by tamyllia 28th April 2010, 4:55 pm

I've dappled with various martial arts during my college years. Finally landed on Muay Thai for a while. I absolutely love the competitiveness and focus it gave me--not to mention work capacity (oh how I loathe conditioning).

I moved to the Louisville area about two years ago, and there's no real kickboxing interest. I took up MMA instead, but I'm horrible with ground moves lol. I stopped going for now because it's currently a bit expensive on the pockets.

I do miss being the only girl though--the look on a new guy's face when he realizes he should not have gone easy on me is always priceless!

tamyllia

Back to top Go down

Post by BekkaPoo 29th April 2010, 2:23 pm

Oh cool Tamyllia.. even though you're not in a dojo/gym right now, maybe there's some things you can practice on your own at home.