CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Tangles, Knots, and More

+3
mrsrenaissance
Janique
Ms. Mycole
7 posters

Go down

Tangles, Knots, and More Empty Tangles, Knots, and More

Post by Ms. Mycole 2nd March 2010, 9:09 pm

Hello Ladies! I've been tranisitioning for about 9 months now and trying to use LESS heat on my hair. I was flat ironing to blend in the two textures but I now want to try styling with protective styles. However, my problem is that EVERY time I wash my hair is it a tangled mess. There are knots, knots, and more knots! I detangle with a wide tooth comb but I need help with product choices. I tried the generic paul mitchell Detangler from Sally's but I'm lost and new to natural hair but I'm trying to learn. Can anyone suggest any good detanglers? Or methods used during your transition? My hair is 4b I believe ( if that's extremely curly or kinky)

Thanks in Advance Ladies!!!!
Ms. Mycole
Ms. Mycole

Back to top Go down

Tangles, Knots, and More Empty Re: Tangles, Knots, and More

Post by Janique 2nd March 2010, 11:39 pm

Since I'm transitioning, I found it easier to wash and condition my hair while in braids. You can make about 6 braids on each side of your hair and use diluted shampoo or conditioner and just let it run through your hair...I found it so much easier to do this and it has helped save my hair from numerous tangles and unnecessary roughness.
Janique
Janique

Back to top Go down

Post by mrsrenaissance 3rd March 2010, 12:05 am

My hair would do that too. You just have to use LOTS of conditioner. Try to detangle w/your fingers as you shampoo too. I also found that shampooing in the shower leaves less tangles (rather than using the sink).

My fav deep conditioner is Garnier Sleek & Shine 3 min. treatment
Leave in conditioner - Karen's Body Beautiful Hair Milk
I also really like Trader Joe's Tea Tree Tingle for a reg. conditioner
mrsrenaissance
mrsrenaissance