CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Total Newbie, Big Sis Needed!

+3
Hurricane Curly
nikkinixnicole
new-naturalle
7 posters

Go down

Total Newbie, Big Sis Needed! Empty Total Newbie, Big Sis Needed!

Post by new-naturalle 3rd February 2010, 1:59 am

Hello, I just commited to going natural last week. I did my BC last thursday and now I don't know where to go. I would love to have someone give me some tips, guidance, hope lol.
new-naturalle
new-naturalle

Back to top Go down

Total Newbie, Big Sis Needed! Empty Re: Total Newbie, Big Sis Needed!

Post by nikkinixnicole 3rd February 2010, 7:59 pm

Hi new-naturalle! I'm in! [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

Congrats on your recent BC!

I have tonnes of experience with natural hair. I've made tonnes of mistakes and have had so many ups and downs with my hair, its not funny lol. I am very willing to share my experiences.

This will most definately be a learning and growing experience for you. Handle this journey with a positive mindset and don't let others deter you.

Here are some general tips:

- Condition, condition, condition!! Quench your hair's thirst
- Avoid oils with petroleum, try using oils in pure form (olive oil, castor oil, coconut oil)
- Do NOT rely on flat irons or heat styling in general! (this may lead to heat damage, which is what I'm currently recovering from)
- Be open to experimentation. Some products that work for some people may not work for others. By experimenting with different products, you will eventually discover what works for you.
- Use alcohol-free gels/styling products
- Be very patient [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

Hope this helps! [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
nikkinixnicole
nikkinixnicole

Back to top Go down

Post by new-naturalle 3rd February 2010, 10:34 pm