CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Why does Indigo give headaches??

3 posters

Go down

Why does Indigo give headaches?? Empty Why does Indigo give headaches??

Post by krissyc39 17th September 2010, 10:45 pm

I was interested in dying my hair with the indigo and henna at some point, but as I was doing my research, I was finding that a lot of ladies said that it gave them headaches... Which lead me to the question of why. So, everything you see further on this page is a result of me being the curious nerd I am study

*Diclaimer* I'm studying to be a chemistry major. So my explination will include molecules and hydrogen bonds and ALL of that lol. If you don't want to deal with all that just read the notes marked with an asterisk Smile

Why does indigo give headaches?
- chemical formula: C16H10N2O2
- conjugation of double bonds gives indigo it's deep color
- hydrogen bonds are prevalent; molecules pretty much stick to each other and in its natural state indigo is white
* benzoate structure (non polar), similar to many other plants including henna
* unlike henna, indigo requires a much more extensive process to get the dye in a usable form
- indigo derived from indican- water soluable and highly hydrologicable
- man-made process produces indoxyl: also water soluable but not the usable form of indigo
- glycosides: dye molecule is linked to a sugar which increases the water solubility; indigo has plenty but it takes a specific process to get the dark dye we are familiar with
- to get usable die you need to break the benzoic structure and make it polar molecule; i think of it like breaking a glow stick
* pretreated with metal salt solution to form strong complexes between the fiber and the later applied die (In the 1500s they used urine! O.o)
* mixed wiuth a strong base to get the usable indigo