CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Thirsty hair

2 posters

Go down

Thirsty hair Empty Thirsty hair

Post by jackiej 6th August 2010, 4:24 pm

Hi All,

I'm quite new to this and am struggling to get the balance right, I know that trial and error is involved, but am worried that by taking so long to get it right I might be causing my already fragile hair more damage.
I have eliminated shampoo containing sulpahte and really feel the difference in that I no longer have an itchy scalp. My current routine is to co-wash every 2 to 3 days with either a conditioner for dry/damaged hair or Mane and Tail, then once a week a deep conditioner and sit under a heating cap. I then hydrate with a mix of Infusium 23, glycerine and water, and before finally getting hold of unrefined shea butter used vaseline to seal. I then try to re-hydrate throughout the day with a mix of water, glycerine and a few drops of essential oil (peppermint to be exact).

Please, please advise with your experience as to where I am going wrong. I did after much searching find a site here in London that sells Kinky-Curly products but after speaking to the really well informed owner was advised and have ordered a few products from the Darcy Botanicals range the Daily cleansing conditioner and the Coconut Lemongrass Tranisition creme - does anyone have any experience of the Darcy products.

Thank you

jackiej

Back to top Go down

Thirsty hair Empty Re: Thirsty hair

Post by By His Design 6th August 2010, 4:40 pm

Are you in the UK?

I must share from my experience that my hair was BADLY damaged. I had hair falling out in clumps and my hair was dull and very brittle. I started using Aphoghee which after two treatments I no longer have shedding.