CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

self-discovery

4 posters

Go down

self-discovery Empty self-discovery

Post by QueenBi 16th November 2009, 6:36 pm

I'm not good with long introductions. I have had a lot of things go on in my life and somewhere in the midst of all that, I lost who I was. Recently, well, I guess not so recently, it's been about a year now, I went natural. At first I had not planned to fully go natural, however, after looking back on pictures through my life I saw that my hair was continuously getting thinner and shorter and thinner and breaking. I decided to break the unhealthy hair cycle in my family. I stopped getting relaxers cold turkey. For most of the time while I transitioned, I was scared. I was straightening my hair every chance I got. No one knew I was no longer getting relaxers. Eventually one day I said enough. Then, the big chop. I cut off the rest of my relaxed hair leaving me with maybe four inches of natural hair. I haven't had a relaxer in just about a year, maybe a little more or a little less. I am still coming to terms with it and every now and then I even regret being natural. However, I have been growing in my self-esteem and confidence on this journey. I feel as though I have been a fresh clean start in more ways than one. My senior year before I graduated no one in my school knew I had natural hair. Since beginning college, I have worn my hair natural almost every single day. This is how I know I have come a long way but I know I still have a long road ahead of me, and am interested in what else I can now do with my healthy, strong, natural hair.
QueenBi
QueenBi

Back to top Go down

self-discovery Empty Re: self-discovery

Post by A85 17th November 2009, 1:36 pm