CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New transitioner; Very dry relaxed ends.

5 posters

Go down

New transitioner; Very dry relaxed ends. Empty New transitioner; Very dry relaxed ends.

Post by ray2424 15th November 2010, 8:23 pm

So I'm about 10 weeks post relaxer, so I'm still a newbie.
The plan as of now is to let my hair grow out, and chop off the permed ends in April.
However, I'd like to make it to April looking somewhat decent, and the ends of my hair already look dry and weird.

Do you know of any products that will help my relaxed ends retain moisture? especially since I'll be washing/ co-washing my hair a lot more. What do you use?

I've been using the Shea moisture shampoo, masque treatment, and the smoothie curl definer.
But two days later I don't know what to use to refresh my style, because I feel like a lot of products either don't moisturize the relaxed hair, or weighs it down which isn't a good look when the hair closer to my roots is curly and cute.

Any advice?

P.S. I ordered the darcy's botanicals transitioning creme, which should arrive within the week. Anyone had any success with that?
ray2424
ray2424

Back to top Go down

New transitioner; Very dry relaxed ends. Empty Re: New transitioner; Very dry relaxed ends.

Post by Naturally Esq 15th November 2010, 11:56 pm

1. When I was transitioning and now that I have BC'd, I use castor oil or EVCO on my ends to keep them moist. Some use shea butter on their ends but castor oil or EVCO works for me.
2. When was the last time you trimmed your ends?
3. Have you clarified your hair?
4. I have not tried any of the Darcy products. I use Giovannin products.
5. Be sure to balance moisture and protein. This is the link to a great article that has a hair test at the end: http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/278612/the_fine_art_of_protein_and_moisture.html?singlepage=true&cat=69

HTH
Naturally Esq
Naturally Esq