CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Protective Styling - What Can I DO??

4 posters

Go down

Protective Styling  - What Can I DO??  Empty Protective Styling - What Can I DO??

Post by BlakButterfli 2nd November 2010, 2:11 pm

I posted this in the Grow Long forum, but thought I would get more feedback on this thread...

Ladies, in a nutshell, I have thin, fine extremely soft hair. I've been wearing a weave for two months (wore one style one month, took it down, did a DC and put in another style the next day and just took it down last night after a little over a month) and I shed SO much hair last night!

I'm trying to find some protective styles that will look good for the office, but that will keep my hair tucked away. I can't wear twists to work (won't work in my environment and with my hair being thin, it looks "scalpy" and very much Miss Celie like).

I notice a lot of people bun their hair or wear two-strand twists to protect their hair, but I don't have that much length and again - twists at work won't work for me.

I'm kinda at a loss - please help me! .
BlakButterfli
BlakButterfli

Back to top Go down

Protective Styling  - What Can I DO??  Empty Re: Protective Styling - What Can I DO??

Post by Treece 2nd November 2010, 5:22 pm

Hi there! here's a couple of different protective styles. If you don't know how to do them try google or Youtube. Some of these I may not have tried myself. Good luck. Smile

Also keep in mind that not only is protecting ends important, but you can damage your hair during styling. I damaged my hair a lot doing cornrows while transitioning and refuse to do them, but that is only because it's hard for me to do them on myself. Be gentle. Smile

Bantu Knots
Braids
Extensions
Wigs
WnG (Wash 'n' Go)
Headwraps
Finger Coils
Flat twists
Updo's

HTH. Smile
Treece
Treece

Back to top Go down