CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Newly Natural

5 posters

Go down

Newly Natural  Empty Newly Natural

Post by rajah.sincere 22nd October 2010, 10:47 am

So I am new to this natural world been getting a relaxer since I was about 10. I finally worked up the nerve to do the bc and I am happy I did. I am having a hard time figuring out my hair type and what to do with my hair. The lady at the salon told me I was in the middle (kinky curly). Would really like some advice on what hair type my hair is and what I should use on it. So far just been using vegetable glycerin mix with tea tree oil and a cream moisturizer. Thanks in advance for all your advice and help.

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

rajah.sincere

Back to top Go down

Newly Natural  Empty Re: Newly Natural

Post by Free2Be 22nd October 2010, 11:14 am

Hi there!

This is my opinion: I think the hair typing is overrated. If you're concerned about keeping your hair healthy and curls bouncy, it's probably more helpful to determine the texture of your hair and it's porosity (the ability to absorb moisture/products). Knowing my hair type (some type of 3, I really don't care) hasn't helped me in any other way than possible styling options, which wasn't helpful during my TWA stage. That's just MY experience. Someone else may have a totally different outlook.

Visit the Live Curly, Live Free website and read through what's there, especially this section on texture and porosity. Once you know that, you will know better the types of products you can use.

Here's a quote from Tiffany Anderson's website, Live Curly, Live Free:
Why Hair Texture and Porosity are the Keys to Understanding Your Curls