CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

How ignorant is your family?

+5
TiffNotANY
Ms.Mai
Takeya
Jazzyrin
ChardaeD
9 posters

Go down

How ignorant is your family? Empty How ignorant is your family?

Post by ChardaeD 13th September 2010, 9:01 am

How many of you have had to deal with a situation like this?

I've been transitioning for about 8 months now, and typically wear my hair in twist outs. Right now my hair is in tighter curls in some spots, kinks and waves in others. My younger sister (age 19) has a natural softer, looser curl than I do, but chooses to wear weaves so she doesn't have to comb it (EVER). Well, after I made a joke about the hair from her weave falling out all over the house, and me walking on the strands and them cutting my feet, she proceeded to tell me that I was just jealous because I don't have "good" hair that grows like hers.

Mind you, when asked...she can't explain what the heck "good" hair is. Why is it that everyone has an opinion? I've also noticed the only people who have something negative to say are black people I encounter. My white friends, co-workers...even people I meet on the street never have anything but compliments.

People get caught up in something so trivial. Yeah, so that was definitely a rant.

ChardaeD
ChardaeD

http://girlnotondeadline.blgospot.com

Back to top Go down

How ignorant is your family? Empty Re: How ignorant is your family?

Post by Jazzyrin 13th September 2010, 11:38 am

nice rant lol