CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Natural Hair and Humidity

4 posters

Go down

Natural Hair and Humidity Empty Natural Hair and Humidity

Post by MzTaly 6th July 2010, 4:33 pm

Hi Ladies- Please bare with me, I'm sure that a question like this has been asked before, but with soooooo much information it's kind of hard to search through and get a specific answer that's relevent to your current circumstance. So if a fellow natural beauty won't mind answering for me again, I appreciate it.

I'm currently transitioning and I don't have any idea what I'm doing. I've been transitioning for about 5 months now, my last relaxer was March/2010. Up until this point I wore sew-in while I grew enough new growth, I took my last sew-in out yesterday. I blow dried and flat ironed my hair, it got straight but it's THICK!!!! I have about 7in of hair in total (hair is almost shoulder length, about 2in away), with about 1 1/2 inch of new growth. I don't want to do the bc, but I'm going to slowly cut off these relaxed ends. I got tired of dealing with the sew-in and that hair. And trust me I'm absolutely sold that I DO NOT want to relax my hair again. I'm convinced that it's just not good for our hair. I love the way my natural hair feels, but not ready to give up the length.

Ok, so my question. This morning I work up and my hair was just a big puff of nothing. I live in Chi-town and if anyone is familiar you know how our summers are. When I tried to flat iron my hair, it did nothing - so I just put on a headband and called it a day. I don't have a regimen. I use Pantene Relaxed and Natural Shampoo and a leave-in conditioner by Olive Oil called tree-something, I can't remember the name right now.