CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A College Natural

2 posters

Go down

A College Natural Empty A College Natural

Post by PrettyCoolAfro 11th May 2010, 10:33 am

I'm a freshman college student who attends a fashion school in NYC. I have been natural for years but I wore braids and never thought of myself as natural until senior year of high school. I started wearing my hair in braid outs every day and my hair grew rapidly. However now that I'm in college, I don't have the same time to devote to braiding my whole head every night. Also, I'm going into the fashion business. I have internships and meet people daily, so my hair always has to be on point. My ends are so split that I'm going to have to do a B/C back to a TWA. I've never had a routinue and I'm willing to try anything. I do not trust myself enough to cut my own hair. Does anybody have tips on cutting your own hair or Are there any natural salons that could possibly cut my hair for me? and Can you suggest any routines that could last up to 3 to 4 days without much maintenace? Thank You So Much

PrettyCoolAfro

Back to top Go down

A College Natural Empty Re: A College Natural

Post by CuddleCurls 11th May 2010, 1:07 pm

I'm a freshman college student from NyC too, but I attend a SUNY upstate. Because of my lack of time to do my hair I recently had to cut about 2 inches off due to split ends...lol. You have to take some time out of your day to nurture your natural hair in college, if not you need to keep it in a protective style for a long while, and that way you only need 5 minutes a day to spray it down and moisturize it. I cut my own hair, btw. There is a way to cut it yourself and have it look OK.