CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Shea Butter.... OILY????

+2
jess-b-cuz
6 posters

Go down

Shea Butter.... OILY???? Empty Shea Butter.... OILY????

Post by jess-b-cuz 26th April 2010, 1:31 am

So I'm a newbie transitioner [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] and I decided to try unrefined shea butter. I don't like the smell of it but i already know about mixing different oils to make it smell better. I love the look of my hair after braidouts using it. But I was wondering if it should be leaving an oily feeling or am I just using too much(i'm heavy-handed)????
jess-b-cuz
jess-b-cuz

Back to top Go down

Shea Butter.... OILY???? Empty Re: Shea Butter.... OILY????

Post by ... 26th April 2010, 8:11 am

Shea butter always left an oily film on my hair, no matter how little I used, and it never absorbed and my hair never felt actually moisturized. I realize now that my hair hates butters (especially shea butter) and any hair product with butters in it (again, especially shea butter)--which sucks, since that basically means that I can't make my own moisturizer because pretty much every recipe incorporates butters. Since it seems to be working for you sometimes at least, you could just be putting too much on. It could also be all the oils you're adding; if decreasing the amount you're using doesn't work, try replacing some of the oils in your next batch of whipped shea butter with aloe vera gel--AVG usually makes whipped shea feel less oily.

Back to top Go down

Post by MicaiahTy 27th April 2010, 2:08 pm

OMG..

I tried to use shea butter on my hair wet and did two strand twist.

I got the curl definition that i liked, but my hair was so greasy i could fry a pork chop on it..

I think im heavy handed too... i only use it to oil my scalp now.
MicaiahTy
MicaiahTy

https://www.youtube.com/micaiahty

Back to top Go down

Post by cassadie3 27th April 2010, 4:40 pm