CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Where do i start?

3 posters

Go down

Where do i start? Empty Where do i start?

Post by TraciH 23rd December 2009, 3:17 pm

Hi everyone!!

Im new to this going natural thing. I have naturally curly hair but I have NEVER gotten a relaxer..ive pressed and gotten wash n sets. I also have dyed my hair. Thats when my hair started to get shorter...It used to be past my waist...i want my hair back so im gonna try to go natural without the heat. My hair is really dried out so the number one problem im going to have is keeping my hair mosturized. So where do i start? Can you help me?
TraciH
TraciH

https://www.facebook.com/traci.hill1

Back to top Go down

Where do i start? Empty Re: Where do i start?

Post by dajewel 23rd December 2009, 3:37 pm

welcome!! moisture is KEY, esp living in an area like the northeast. so, you want to introduce moisture at every state of your hair regime: pre-poo, shampoo, co-wash, dc, styling, daily moisture/sealing. also, try to keep your hair in protective styles as much as possible because: they help keep the hair moisturized, protect the hair from extreme weather, protect the ends, low maintenance which means less manipulation which means more hair growth.

my preference is to co-wash with natural/organic products. i shampoo when my hair tells me; the last time i shampoo'ed was nov 17th ish, and prolly won't do so again till the first couple of weeks of jan. my staple co-wash is aubrey organics honeysuckle rose condish and then i DC with evoo/evco mix. the mix is a God-sent because it helps keep my hair moisturized for DAYS. i use Giovanni 50:50 hydrating balance condish as a leave-in, and then two strand twist with my shea/aloe/evco/castor oil mix. i usually keep them in for about a week or two and co-wash with my hair in the twists cuz 1) helps with detangling, 2) helps me do my hair faster and 3) am simply lazy.