CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Protective Styles

4 posters

Go down

Protective Styles Empty Protective Styles

Post by keepsmiling 17th January 2011, 2:33 pm

I'm new to the natural world and I keep reading about protective styling, what exactly are protective styles? Is that like sew-ins and things like that b/c I really don't like wearing weave, it itches my scalp. Are there any protective styles that can be done to short hair, my hair stretches to about the bottom of my ear. I didn't realize how involved this process was going to be. Can anyone help me?
keepsmiling
keepsmiling

Back to top Go down

Protective Styles Empty Re: Protective Styles

Post by Mandi'sGoneCurly! 17th January 2011, 2:38 pm

Oh yeah, it's definitely a process. Lol
A protective style is one that keeps your ends protected. Because our ends are the oldest part of our hair they are prone to splitting and breakage. A sew in is one example and others include micros, cornrowing, twists or braids with your ends tucked or simply putting on a hat. Go to YouTube and search for protective styles and you should get some ideas. Hope this helps!

Last edited by Mandi'sGoneCurly! on 17th January 2011, 2:51 pm; edited 2 times in total (Reason for editing : More info!)
Mandi'sGoneCurly!
Mandi'sGoneCurly!

Back to top Go down

Post by keepsmiling 17th January 2011, 2:57 pm

Thank you, I really appreciate it. I will have to do that b/c I am clueless and have no styling ideas.
keepsmiling
keepsmiling

Back to top Go down

Post by Mandi'sGoneCurly! 17th January 2011, 3:04 pm

No problem! I was too at one time. Also search the forums for more ideas!
Mandi'sGoneCurly!
Mandi'sGoneCurly!

Back to top Go down

Post by laleepop14 17th January 2011, 4:07 pm