CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Using water in moisturizing spritz

2 posters

Go down

Using water in moisturizing spritz Empty Using water in moisturizing spritz

Post by ethomasFL 24th November 2010, 4:22 pm

Hi all,
This is my very first time posting to any board on CurlyNikki, I'm still a newbie...any who, I have a question (and I am so glad this discussion topic made it to the boards) about using a moisturizing spritz.

I created my first spritz this weekend with water, glycerin, aloe vera juice, olive oil, avocado oil and a few drops of rosemary oil. Well I love the smell and feel but when I spritz it on my hair (type 4, collar bone length, always wanting moisture), it seems to love it at first and then it dries, shrivels some and frizzes! Then I lose my curl/twist definition. I really think the water in the spritz causes this and I really don't want my twist out to frizz instantly & tighten up. Any suggestions that you think might help? Can I make a spritz with little to no water or does that defeat the purpose? I use a leave in conditioner (Kimmaytube) on my dry hair and then twist with the eco custard mixture I read from another board (this is a great combination for my hair).
Thanks for any help/advice....
ethomasFL
ethomasFL

Back to top Go down

Using water in moisturizing spritz Empty Re: Using water in moisturizing spritz

Post by LittleOne 24th November 2010, 4:29 pm

Hi ethomasFL,

You've doubled up on the humectants by using glycerin and aloe vera juice together. Try omitting the water and glycerin. The aloe vera juice and oils should be a better mix. Good luck! Please let us know how it turns out.

Since you are new to all of this...you should find your Hair ID and see how it compares to your current regimen.

http://www.hairliberty.org/black-hair-care/hair-id/

Welcome to the fun! Smile
LittleOne
LittleOne

Back to top Go down