CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Need Help, Tips as a New Natural

5 posters

Go down

Need Help, Tips as a New Natural Empty Need Help, Tips as a New Natural

Post by cute_curly_girly 2nd January 2010, 2:23 am

Happy New Year Chicas!
This is my very first time posting here. I am a new natural, who bc'ed in November. It's my third time going natural (the past two times, I relaxed my hair to impress a boyfriend; another time, I relaxed because of coworker pressure.)

Although I have more knowledge this time, I'm frustrated. Although I'm loving my new curls, and it's inspiring a new confidence in my own beauty, I'm still at a loss. I'm still getting the hang of wearing curls, and feel clueless when it comes to styling and caring for my hair.

My Current Routine:
1. I moisturize with either water/glycerin/oil spray or rinsing with water and shea butter.)
2. I moisten my hair w/water, or the spray at night, follow with castor oil or shea butter and use two-strand twists on my hair. (But the twists don't look defined after I take them down in the morning, and often have straight ends -- looking like snakes, not curly).
3. At night a satin cap and/pillow for my hair.
4. I use Organix Shea Butter and Coconut Oil Shampoo on hair for condition washes.

Am I manipulating my hair too much by Twisting it every night? Is it safe to co-wash every other day or daily (a coworker -- also a natural -- looked at me in horrow when I confessed Iwanted to co'wash every two days.) I've tried wash and go styles, but my curls always end up looking frizzy and unkempt instead of the beautiful styles I've seen.

What am I doing wrong?

Help! Thanks.

cute_curly_girly

Back to top Go down

Need Help, Tips as a New Natural Empty Re: Need Help, Tips as a New Natural

Post by NylaCoils 3rd January 2010, 10:01 pm

Hey Gurly- Welcome to the board!!!!!!