CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Sensitivity to Henna?

2 posters

Go down

Sensitivity to Henna? Empty Sensitivity to Henna?

Post by catcurls 6th December 2010, 5:05 pm

I have been hennaing for about 8 months now but have noticed when left on more than 4-5 hours my scalp itches at the back base of my head and in crown area. Sad My mix is 2-3TBS Jamila, 1TBS Amla, 4-6 TBS of Buxus Dioica with black tea or coffee. I add 6TBS Indigo mixed with hot water to henna mix then apply it all. I rinse with non-protein based condish to remove the henna rinsing until water runs clean. After I deep condish. Has anyone else experienced sensitivity after hennaing?

catcurls
catcurls

Back to top Go down

Sensitivity to Henna? Empty Re: Sensitivity to Henna?

Post by envizionj 6th December 2010, 5:33 pm

I'm allergic to the indigo, which gives me migraine headaches even with 2 tablespoons, so I run from it like the plague. No

You may not have rinsed it out the henna and indigo thoroughly. After rinsing out the henna with water, apply conditioner and rinse, then apply a quick moisturizing shampoo and rinse, then rinse with conditioner again. Then do your deep conditioner.

You may also want to substitute the black tea/coffee with green tea, which is less harsh. Also, don't mix your indigo with hot water, use warm water. sunny

What brand name of conditioner are you using? You must use moisturizing conditioners since henna is drying. I use Suave Professionals Humectant For Dry hair conditioner mixed with Aussie Moist Conditioner and add 2 teaspoons of 1-2 of my favorite oils (e.g., Black Jamaican Castor oil, Nutiva coconut oil, sweet almond oil, Goya extra virgin olive oil). Mix it all together and rub it on your hair, not your scalp. Leave it on for as long as your want and then rinse out with conditioner or plain warm water.
flower
envizionj
envizionj

Back to top Go down