CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Dreading protective styles

+7
Jo Somebody
curlytee
krazy coils
elitebeauty13
CrAvInG_CuRlZ:)
Janique
CeeCee757
11 posters

Go down

Dreading protective styles Empty Dreading protective styles

Post by CeeCee757 12th March 2011, 5:24 pm

I'm fairly new to the natural hair community. I did my big chop on Feb 5th and I'm learning day by day. After researching different sites and watching an abundance of YouTube videos, it seems that in order to grow long hair you must wear protective styles.

My problem is that I DON'T want to wear wigs, braids, or weaves. I really can't stand for anything to be in my hair. Almost every time I see a video on protective styles it's one of those 3, so now I'm dreading the whole process when my hair gets longer.

I'm thinking my only option is the ever so popular two strand twist. If anybody has any suggestions I would really appreciate it. Thanks!
CeeCee757
CeeCee757

Back to top Go down

Dreading protective styles Empty Re: Dreading protective styles

Post by Janique 12th March 2011, 5:31 pm

You don't have to use protective styles to grow your hair long. Some people find it helps while others leave there hair out and they still manage to retain length.Some protective style because sometimes less manipulation is good for them and they don't like to mess with their hair alot. Some people do it to protect their ends from the elements. It really depends on what's best for your hair.

Here is a link to Mazerati on fotki. She rarely protective styles:
http://members.fotki.com/Soliel185/about/
Janique
Janique

Back to top Go down

Post by CrAvInG_CuRlZ:) 12th March 2011, 6:20 pm