CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Natural Hair Expo

+2
browncurlygirl
jerseygurlwitdacurls
6 posters

Go down

Natural Hair Expo Empty Natural Hair Expo

Post by jerseygurlwitdacurls 17th July 2010, 2:49 am

Hello Curlies!

It is almost 2 in the morning and I just had this crazy idea about natural hair expos. I would love to plan one for the Philly/South Jersey area, but I have NO experience planning an event of this magnitude. I have an idea of the work that goes into planning a convention, but haven't actually done it. I think it could be a revolutionary event, because it would not only focus on hair, but other aspects of life.

So I pose these questions:

1) Do you think the interest is there for an event like this?
2) Does anyone have experience planning one?
3) Do you think many of our favorite companies (Oyin, KBB, Shea Moisture, Kinky Curly, Carol's Daughter, etc.) would sponsor an event like this?
4) Any suggestions?

I'm new to the blogsphere, but I've been thinking about this for a long time...I just need the spring board to dive in Smile
jerseygurlwitdacurls
jerseygurlwitdacurls

Back to top Go down

Natural Hair Expo Empty Re: Natural Hair Expo

Post by browncurlygirl 17th July 2010, 4:36 pm

Hello Jerserygurlwithdacurls,

I do think that there may be interest in an event like this, however keep in mind that it is a lot of work. Having been a former Marketing Director for major radio stations, I have planned events like 'For Sisters Only', 'Lifestyle Expo' and so on. Just know that you need to create a planning team and more importantly, scale it to a reasonable size at first so that it can grow. It is better to have an event that only holds 100 people max and yet have 75 people attend, then to hold it in a room that holds 500 and 100 attend.