CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Newbie here :0)

4 posters

Go down

Newbie here :0) Empty Newbie here :0)

Post by iKarley 8th July 2010, 1:23 pm

Hello all!! I am new here. New to the board and semi-new to being natural. I had a HEAD full of hair growing up. Im talking about 8 hours in the salon just for a press and curl when I was younger. I begged and begged for a relaxer and my mother gave in when I was 12. I'm mad she gave in lol. Shortly after the relaxer, I started to do my own hair and have friends do/play in my hair. Basically everything went downhill from there. I still had a decent amount of manangable hair but nothing close to what I had.

I did my first BC back in March 2005. I added some color and rocked a TWA and two strand twist for a some months, finally decided loc up that November. Kept the locs til 2007. Cut the locs with the intention of staying natural and got a sew in. Silly me, I realized that it was not feasible to have a sew in of bone straight hair with natural hair when I went to the club and POOF. The very next day I put a relaxer in my hair. Decided that natural hair wasnt for me and maintained a sew in, braids, my own hair with relaxers for the next few years.

May 2010, BC'd again. I had my last relaxer July 2009 (its my anniversary Surprised)) and was left with a TWA. About two weeks after the BC I went back to the sew in but knew I was going to have to work to maintain, especially in the summer, especially in the HUMIDITY. I was able to do so for a while. I had a small section of my own hair out that I flat ironed to match the texture of the bone straight weave. Big mistake. After about the 4th wash I noticed my hair wasnt curling any more. I googled to see what was the deal and realized I basically burned my hair straight and there is no turning back.