CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Help a newbee, please!

5 posters

Go down

Help a newbee, please! Empty Help a newbee, please!

Post by CurlyCoCo 22nd April 2010, 12:31 am

Hi everyone!
I am new to this site and I am new to wearing my hair natural. I am so glad I found this site!

I have been reading things for a few days now and I have a few questions. I am bi-racial and my hair is very strange. It is thin and the roots of my hair are straight and not dry, however the rest of my hair is sorta dry. This has always made it hard to use oils because it weighs my fro down and I like it poofy [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] . I have been hearing lots about co-washing and I have tried it in between washings. Still I have to wash my hair at least 3 times a week or it gets gunky. I have been using Giovanni 50/50 shampoo and conditioner and am quite pleased with it. But I have to admit that I have been using John Frieda gel, serum, and leave in conditioner spray. From what I see on this site that is a No-no. Does anybody out there have any ideas as to what I should be using to define and moisturize my curls without it getting too scrunchy or without getting that wet look?

Thanks so much and I am so thrilled to be part of this group
CurlyCoCo
CurlyCoCo

Back to top Go down

Help a newbee, please! Empty Re: Help a newbee, please!

Post by ktoliver5303 22nd April 2010, 1:53 am

Well... I have no clue how to answer your question.. I can say I also have used the Giovanni 50/50 protein condish and it makes Diva (my hair) feel lov-a-ly!! But I am sure someone here will have an answer. BUT!! I can say congrats on your natural journey and WELCOME ABOARD! This is a very fun and informative site and you will enjoy it.
ktoliver5303
ktoliver5303

Back to top Go down

Post by sweetdrk1 22nd April 2010, 11:07 am