CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Breakage?!?!?

+2
LittleOne
Ms.Fenty
6 posters

Go down

Breakage?!?!? Empty Breakage?!?!?

Post by Ms.Fenty 30th November 2010, 5:00 pm

So I've been transitioning for 10 months now. I thought I had a good idea of how to take care of my hair at this point. I don't use heat, I deep condition and detangle once a week. I moisturize and seal as needed, if my hair doesn't feel dry I won't touch it and I do braid outs and buns. I've noticed lately that my hair is breaking, only a little though, like nowhere near how much it was breaking when I was relaxing but it's still breaking. I noticed it in the middle top and middle back area, I see short pieces of curly hair, but they're shorter than most of my new growth, so it must be breaking above the line of demarcation, right? I am very gentle with my hair, but I do have a tough time detangling and that's when I see (and hear) my hair breaking. I mean it is just a few snaps, but it worries me.

I've only done a protein treatment about two times, but it didn't seem to work and honestly protein scares me. I've read horror stories about protein overload and I don't want it to happen to me. I did a henna treatment over the weekend but my hair honestly doesn't feel much different (i.e. stronger). I know people say it's normal and that's why you shouldn't transition for too long, but I'm really not ready to BC yet.

Any suggestions ladies, should I suck it up and do some more protein treatments? Should I henna a few more times? Is a little breakage unavoidable? Are the short curlies just new hairs that have sprouted up and are growing fresh? What can I do?
Ms.Fenty
Ms.Fenty

Back to top Go down

Breakage?!?!? Empty Re: Breakage?!?!?

Post by LittleOne 30th November 2010, 7:15 pm