Would you eat your hair?

Go down

Would you eat your hair?

Post by Rissarai on 16th August 2010, 11:05 pm

I can remember when I first became a member of the natural hair community, I was up late into the night reading and absorbing all the information available. I learned to stay away from: cones, petroleum, and mineral oil because of the affect they have on the hair. I would go to the store and carefully read the labels making sure I only put the best ingredients in my tresses. I am sure many of you did and do the same, but what about the rest of our bodies?
I realized that I was taking better care of my hair than I was my body. I wasn't checking labels at the grocery store, or asking the McDonald's cashier for a copy of their nutritional information. I was paying much more attention to my outside than my inside.
I saw my mother die of cancer, and that motivates me everyday to try to open up dialog in our community about taking better care of ourselves. I am a teacher by occupation, not a nutritionist, but I do my research so that I can take better care of my family, and enlighten the youth I teach. The media does a good job of pushing our attention toward one issue, while diverting it from another. Now even Fruit Loops are whole grain and have added fiber. Why? That is like adding granola to a hot fudge sundae, it is still unhealthy!!
I think many of us can admit our hair is the healthiest thing about us, but we can't nourish our bodies with it, so we have to wake up and take better care of us, by sharing and learning from one another.

What matters most, our outsides or our insides? Or is there a happy medium?

~Riss

Element Tree: Natural Living Rooted in Simplicity

Rissarai

View user profile http://www.elementtree.blogspot.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Would you eat your hair?

Post by naturalchic on 17th August 2010, 10:18 am