CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Swoodward, working on retaining my growth - still working it out

+27
jlowman1
nattyblog
LadyMika
Nikcoils
priceless
CurlsGalore
Juices-n-Berries
poeticlyspkng
Muz
CurlyChefRobin
DvaAuNaturel
mrsmackey
Curly_Aquarius
KinkyNappyHappy
ChrsLvsBks
SheeTacular
ktoliver5303
krazy coils
TheRYL1
BlondeByDesire
Intelligentbeauty
NubieNatty
mstokes2008
bholmes87
Lynnieluve
sweetdrk1
swoodward
31 posters

Page 1 of 20 1, 2, 3 ... 10 ... 20  Next

Go down

Swoodward, working on retaining my growth - still working it out Empty Swoodward, New Goal - retaining my growth

Post by swoodward 5th April 2010, 10:01 pm

Ok, ladies, I am late in going natural and late entering the contest but here goes!

I have been relaxing my hair steadily for about 22 years. Now that doesn't count the off and on relaxing I did from high school through to college graduation. If I add that in, we're talking 31 years of creamy crack.

When I was 7 or so, I noticed my first commercial for shampoo. The young white model piled her bubble-covered hair on top of her head and rubbed like she was kneading dough. She smiled the happiest, buy me smile. The next shot showed her swinging her long blond hair. By the time I was 8, me, the hot comb and my mother were seriously at odds, so I started doing my own hair and that was the first hair model I ever tried to copy. What's really sad is NO ONE should wash her their hair like that! When I think about this now, of course it makes sense that my hair broke off.