CurlyNikki Community
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Geneaology anyone?

+7
FloridaSunshine
AfrikanLatina
lacesonia
d.denise
tiashaunteé
traveljunkie08
LilMsPuddles
11 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Geneaology anyone? Empty Geneaology anyone?

Post by LilMsPuddles 9th December 2009, 8:20 pm

I started doing my family genealogy in middle school and did pretty well until I stopped in HS. I just recently started again and it seems harder now lol.
Is anyone else doing their own search?
What have you found to be helpful?
How expensive has it been?

I'm still looking for a lot of information and I'm drowning in ways to find it.
LilMsPuddles
LilMsPuddles

http://twitter.com/Ms_Puddles

Back to top Go down

Geneaology anyone? Empty Re: Geneaology anyone?

Post by traveljunkie08 11th December 2009, 8:46 pm

I don't know how I missed this post, as I've been tracing my family history off and on since high school (1993-ish). My search started with obtaining a copy of my great-great grandfather's death certificate. That gave me sooooo much information! His full name, date and place of birth, parent's name, last wife's name, employers name, the relative's name who provided all the info for the death certificate, where he was buried, what he died of, etc. I took that information and tracked down the owners of the land my family used to sharecrop on. The man was old, but he remembered my family very well and gave me even more info and told me stories about my great grandparents.